Thursday, June 07, 2007

2007 VPTC-CVG Tech Awards

The Virginia Piedmont Technology Council-Charlottesville Venture Group announced the 2007 Tech Award winners last night at their Farmington Gala banquet.

The Rocket Award, sponsored by Environ of Charlottesville, went to ADI Engineering for their speed in moving from concept toward commercialization.

The Spotlight Award, sponsored by the University of Virginia, went to SNL Financial for actions spotlight the Virginia Piedmont as a world-class technology leader.

The Breakthrough Award, sponsored by CIT for a remarkable breakthrough or quantum advance, went to DiaKine Therapeutics.

The Navigator Award, sponsored by Barton Malow, went to Richard Crawford, founder of Virginia Active Angels Network (VAAN), for significant leadership in the local or regional high-tech community.

The Red Apple Award, sponsored by the University of Virginia, went to Paula White, Crozet Elementary School, for doing the most with resources available in exciting and preparing students for the possibilities in technology. Paula White will also receive the Keiter Stephens Tobey $2,500 Technology in Education Grant.

VPTC Chairman Gary Henry was honored with the Community Award, sponsored by NTELOS, for demonstrating commitment to improving the quality of life in Central Virginia through community involvement.

The new 2007 Chairman's Award went to VPTC Board members Dave Keller (NTELOS), Tracy Linkous (Diffusion Pharmaceuticals), and Michael Latsko (Explore Learning).

A Special Judges Award went to Red Apple Award finalist Larry G. Richards of UVA Engineering who has been bringing Engineering Kits into middle school science and math classes through the Virginia Middle School Engineering Education Initiative.

UPDATE: Brian McNeill's Daily Progress article on the event.

Labels: , , ,


Post a Comment

<< Home